Wednesday, March 18, 2009


Explanation Of The Tiered Roofs And Pillars

There are seven layered roofs symbolizing the seven sacraments viz.

Ø Baptism
Ø Confirmation
Ø Eucharist
Ø Confession (sacrament of Penance and reconciliation)
Ø Anointing Of The Sick
Ø Holy Orders
Ø Matrimony

The twelve (12) pillars symbolize the 12 Apostles. The church is apostolic in her origin because she has been built on “the foundation of the Apostles” (Ephesians 2:20). She is apostolic in her teaching which is the same as that of the Apostles. She is apostolic by reason of her structure insofar as she is taught, sanctified, and guided until Christ returns by the Apostles through their successors who are the bishops in communion with the successor of Peter.


  1. 1 Corinthians 3:11

    For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.

    Ehpesians 4:15

    In all things, which is the head, Christ.

    Ehpesians 5:23

    As the husband is the head of the wife, Christ is the head of the Church.

    Apostolic successions means nothing if it were from men because the church that Christ built is for His glory of his people (the church) while the claimes of "foundation of the apostles" are merely referring a church (a building).

    Ephesians 2:20 from your quote states "having been built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, the Messiah Jesus himself being the cornerstone."

    Somehow you omit the remainder of the sentence and interpret the verse out of context as you see fit. One mistake in reading the bible is to read into it, to make sense out of it from what we already know.

    "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you—unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2 Corinthians 13:5

  2. The 7 Sacraments are being taught to us in Sunday school as the natural order of things of life in Christ that will lead to salvation.

    Taken from the Cathecism

    1129 The Church affirms that for believers the sacraments of the New Covenant are necessary for salvation.51 "Sacramental grace" is the grace of the Holy Spirit, given by Christ and proper to each sacrament. The Spirit heals and transforms those who receive him by conforming them to the Son of God. The fruit of the sacramental life is that the Spirit of adoption makes the faithful partakers in the divine nature52 by uniting them in a living union with the only Son, the Savior.

    The first sentence poses a problem to me. Partly because it is saying that Jesus dying for us once is not enough for us to be saved.

    Romans 5:18-19

    Consequently, just as the result of one trespass was condemnation for all men, so also the result of one act of righteousness was justification that brings life for all men. 19For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.

    Christ died once which was enough for us to be saved and forgiven. We need not do anymore because God's grace is a free gift.

    Ehpesians 2:8-9

    For is is by grace that you have been saved, through faith, and this is not from yourselves, so that no one may boast.

    God's forgiveness and salvation comes from believing in Christ Jesus, confessing it in your mouth that "Jesus is Lord". Not by works and good deeds. Those ways were gone already. Christ came to fulfil the law, not to abolish it. If you and i believe in one fact, that Jesus died for our sins to that we might be save, then that faith is sufficient. Christ need not see our works, so that none may boast more than another to gain recognition. Salvation is God's to give, not ours to earn.

  3. Ephesians 2:8-9

    For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God, not by works, so that no one can boast.