Wednesday, March 18, 2009


Symbolism Of The Dove


Explanation Of The Tiered Roofs And Pillars

There are seven layered roofs symbolizing the seven sacraments viz.

Ø Baptism
Ø Confirmation
Ø Eucharist
Ø Confession (sacrament of Penance and reconciliation)
Ø Anointing Of The Sick
Ø Holy Orders
Ø Matrimony

The twelve (12) pillars symbolize the 12 Apostles. The church is apostolic in her origin because she has been built on “the foundation of the Apostles” (Ephesians 2:20). She is apostolic in her teaching which is the same as that of the Apostles. She is apostolic by reason of her structure insofar as she is taught, sanctified, and guided until Christ returns by the Apostles through their successors who are the bishops in communion with the successor of Peter.